Opinion/Editorial

‘We are not the enemy, we are your peers, friends, and neighbors.’

By Nikki McKim I felt the editorial (below) by Judy Patrick of the Boston Globe was so important to publish

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | 1 Comment

A final Hangin’ Out the Warsh

On. December 1, 1946, I walked in the door at 108 East 16th, said ‘hello’ shook hands all around and

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hangin’ Out The Warsh — April 22, 2014

Much as been written about Braniff International Flight #250 which crashed in Tony Schawang’s soybean field northeast of Falls City

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out The Warsh — December 3, 2013

It’s overdue time to toss a bouquet to the Auxiliary of  Veterans of Foreign Wars Post l765. Auxiliary member Sherry

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out The Warsh — November 19, 2013

Over the weekend the metropolitan newspapers were filled with “what were you doing when you heard that President Kennedy had

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out The Warsh — October 29, 2013

The “Days of Yore” column a couple of weeks ago noted that several county men had been inducted into their

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out The Warsh — July 30, 2013

I know that I have mentioned this before.  Helen Thomas, who died recently at the age of 92, was married

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out The Warsh — June 18, 2013

The recent death of Charles Schlicker ended one era of old Company B of the l34th Infantry, Nebraska National Guard.

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Storm Chaser down

Last Friday Oklahoma was inundated with another round of tornadoes. Through the weekend we learned of a mother and her child being sucked out of their car and killed as well as veteran storm researchers Tim Samaras, his son Paul and Carl Young. Every life lost is as valuable as the last but Tim Samaras was a face a lot of us came to know and respect.

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out the Warsh 6-4-13

Several weeks ago the Journal ran a photo/story about a dilapidated crate which Louie Fritz of Verdon had found when

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out the Warsh 5-7-13

Some bits and pieces. The May—June issue of “Nebraska Life” has an excellent feature story with the headline, “Broadcaster Lance

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Finding Me

In the olden days, back when I was a kid, this would’ve been called “airing your dirty laundry.”  In today’s age of sharing every detail of our lives on Facebook, most people would call it a status update.  I prefer, however, to follow the lead of Good Morning America’s Robin Roberts, and call it, “Making My Mess My Message.”  And since I had a really big mess, I also have a really big message.

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out the Warsh 4-9-13

The Sweet Sixteen Louisville-Duke basketball game in Indianapolis and the emotion which took over the arena when Louisville’s Kevin Ware

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out the Warsh 4-2-13

When you’re an old geezer like yours truly there aren’t all that many adrenaline rushes left. But I experienced one

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment

Hanging Out the Warsh 3-5-13

This is some turning back the clock stuff. A couple of years back when Del and Shirley Bowers were living

Posted in Opinion/Editorial | Leave a comment