Seven Tiger seniors named to C1-2 District Team

The Falls City Tigers were football champions of the Class C1-2 District in 2014, so it only makes sense that FCHS athletes dominated the All-District Team, with seven players – all seniors – named to the list. 

The four-man senior backfield of Jack Hartman, Brenden Heckenlively, Jordy Stoller and Weston Witt were all All-District honorees, as were linemen Payton Adams, Tucker Merz and Jeremy Zimmerman.

The Tigers, which finished 8-2, defeated Syracuse 25-16 the eighth week of the season to capture the C1-2 District crown. The Rockets landed six players on the list, followed by Auburn (five), Louisville (three), Johnson CC (two) and Conestoga (one). Four additional Tigers — seniors Lee Huettner, Brody Weinmann and Zach Jordening, and sophomore Zayne Heckenlively — earned honorable mention.

The Tiger offense averaged 45 points in its eight wins and it could’ve gone much higher, as the Syracuse game was the only four-quarter game of the year for the varsity. Still, the offensive numbers were impressive. FC averaged 6.9 yards per carry and gained 3,806 yards of total offense in 10 games. 

Stoller, a four-year starter, scored a total of 17 touchdowns to lead his team, which finished with an 8-2 record and third consecutive state playoff appearance. He caught just 21 passes, but made the most of each of them, averaging more than 29 yards per catch with eight touchdowns. He also rushed 52 times at 9.8 yards per carry and scored another six times on the ground. Stoller returned 11 punts – one for a score – at an average of 23.8 yards per return and also intercepted a team-high four passes, returning one all the way back for another score. Stoller returned a fumble 84 yards for a TD and averaged 19 yards on 10 kickoff returns. 

Stoller’s 1,641 all-purpose yards were nearly twice that of any other Tiger player. 

Hartman was most often the trigger man in Coach Darin Fritz’ single-wing offense. He completed 37-of-67 throws (55 percent) for 944 yards and 12 scores to six interceptions. Hartman also rushed 120 times for a team-high 858 yards, but was sacked for 108 yards in losses, giving him a 750 net, second to Heckenlively’s 804 rushing yards on 93 carries (8.6 per). Heckenlively also led FC with 11 rushing touchdowns (13 total). Witt rushed 52 times for 534 yards (7.3 per) and found the end zone five times. 

Hartman was quarterback of the defense, too, leading in nearly every statistical category from his linebacker position. He recorded a team-high 66 tackles (38 solo, which alone would’ve been good for third on the team), and made 14 1/2 tackles for 60 yards in losses, which included four sacks. He blocked a couple kicks and broke up seven passes. 

Merz, a defensive end, made a team-high 10 tackles for 36 yards in losses, while defensive tackle Payton Adams had 9 1/2 tackles behind the line of scrimmage for 36 yards in losses, to go with 38 total tackles. At the other tackle position, Zimmerman made 5 1/2 stops behind the line. Witt finished with 6 1/2 tackles for 30 yards in losses.

Heckenlively finished second to Hartman in total tackles with 44 (24 solo). He recovered a couple fumbles and recorded one interception. 



Jordan Stoller – FC – Sr.

Jackson Hartman – FC – Sr.

Brenden Heckenlively – FC – Sr.

Tucker Merz – FC – Sr.

Payton Adams – FC – Sr.

Weston Witt – FC – Sr.

Jeremy Zimmerman – FC – Sr.

Matt Clark – Syracuse – Sr.

Will Neels – Syracuse – Sr.

Ty Snyder – Syracuse – Sr.

Connor Cameron – Syracuse – Jr.

Tanner Harsin – Syracuse – Jr.

Chris Goble – Syracuse – Sr. 

Rex Harmon- Auburn – Sr. 

Nathan Moran-Auburn – Sr. 

Quintin Boden-Auburn – Sr. 

Joey Dunn- Auburn – Jr. 

Dallas Yates-Auburn – Jr. 

Jake Mohler- Louisville – Jr. 

Hunter Dillon – Louisville – Sr. 

Wade Knott – Louisville – Sr. 

Zac Borrenpohl – JCC – Sr. 

Ryan Teten – JCC – Sr. 

Zach Schwindt- Conestoga – So.


Honorable Mention

Lee Huettner – FC – Sr.; Brody Weinmann – FC – Sr.; Zayne Heckenlively – FC – So.; Zach Jordening – FC – Sr.; Logan Teten – Syracuse – Sr.; Trey Mueller – Syracuse – Sr.; Mitch McWilliams – Syracuse – So.; Seth Bayliss – Syracuse – So.; Monty Roberts – Syracuse – So.; Pat Frary – Auburn – Sr.; Tyler Wredt – Auburn – Jr.; Tucker Arban – Auburn – Jr.; Yaid Puente – Auburn – Sr.; Cole Beethe – JCC – Sr.; Jake Herz – Conestoga – Jr.; Joey Simpson – Conestoga – Sr.; Sam Simpson – Conestoga – Jr.; Neil Bock – Conestoga – Sr.; Nic Snodgrass – Louisville – Jr.


Leave a Reply

Social Media