FCSH, HTRS speakers finish runner-up in respective Districts

The Falls City Sacred Heart speech team won the runner-up plaque at the District D2-1 Speech Contest held at Meridian last Wednesday.

Fourteen of eighteen Sacred Heart events qualified for finals, and five events advanced to state competition. The team members earned a total of 21 medals and 117 total team points, trailing Bruning Davenport by 10 points.

“At Districts, the scores earned by every member of team add to the total sweepstakes points, so the District competition was a real team victory,” coach Diana Eickhoff said.

Competitors placing first, second, or third advance to State, which will be held this week at Kearney.

State Qualifiers: Janey Malcolm—Second place in Serious Prose; Matt Mullins—Second place in Informative; Chaz Dunn—First place in Duet; Colin Niemeyer—First place in Duet; Emma Schock—Second place in Humorous; Ben Mullins—Third place in Humorous.

Other FCSH competitors: Rachel Aitken—Fourth place in Persuasive; preliminary round poetry; Will Burenheide—Preliminary round Serious, OID; Janey Malcolm—Fourth place Duet; Matt Mullins—Fourth place Duet; Sandy Bangert—Preliminary round OID; Kathryn Bieker—Fourth place poetry; Fifth place Extemp; Jarold Fiegener—Preliminary round Extemp; Colin Niemeyer—Fifth place OID; Emma Schock—Preliminary round OID; Kelsi Fouraker—Preliminary round OID; Sawyer Kean—Fifth place Entertainmnet; Fifth OID; Ben Mullins—Fifth place OID; Abbey Neddenriep—Fourth Informative; Emily Rohrer—Fifth in Persuasive; Fifth in OID; Joshua Froeschl—Fifth in OID; Reggie Johansen—Sixth in Entertainment; Cameron Jordan—Preliminary round OID.
Sacred Heart was ahead by two points after preliminary rounds.

“We knew that the final sweepstakes awards would be determined by placement in finals,” Eickhoff said. “As usual, we certainly did not agree with all of the opinions of the judges, but that is the nature of competitive speech.  The SH competitors did everything asked of them, and they all felt that they had presented their best performances of the year.  When all is said and done, you can’t ask any more of yourself than that.”

HTRS Runner-Up
The Humboldt/Table Rock/Steinauer speech team won the runner-up plaque at the C2-l District. Freeman finished first with l32 points and had 10 state qualifiers. HTRS was second with l25 points and eight state qualifiers. Nebraska City Lourdes was third with l07 points and five state qualifiers.

HTRS qualifiers are: Taylor Schafer, Poetry, lst and Serious Prose. 2nd; Joel Svoboda, 2nd Humorous; Carissa Carlin, Informative, 2nd; Elliot Gonnella, Extemporaneous Speaking, 2nd; Amanda Dyas, Persuasive, 2nd; Jacob Herr, Entertainment, 3rd; duet of Noah Sherman and Joes Svoboda, 2nd.

State competition for Class C-2 will be held March 22 in Kearney.

Leave a Reply